Review: Unbreakable: A Novel

Review: Unbreakable: A Novel

Unbreakable: A Novel
Unbreakable: A Novel by W.C. Bauers

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Unbreakable: A Novel by W.C. Bauers www.goodreads.com/book/show/22238182

I read a book this week called Unbreakable by a new author, W.C. Bauers. It was a very good book, in the vein of Honor Harrington and Starship Troopers. What really struck me though, was that once I was about ¼ of the way in to the book …. I thought the author was writing in Weber’s Honorverse. I heard terms like: Hexapuma, BuPers, Diaspora, LAC (light attack craft), all very common verbiage in the Honor Harrington Universe. The author even has a “pull-out quote” from David Weber on the cover: “I highly recommend it.”

After some quick research I found no direct connection to Weber’s Honorverse.

Then it hit me: this is a technique called RESONANCE. David Farland wrote an excellent book on the subject: Drawing on the Power of Resonance in Writing.

The author (whether conscious or not) is using many terms that are familiar to Honorverse readers. This causes the work to resonate with them. He also uses the term “The Verse”, like in Firefly. By using resonance, these subtle cues really anchor the story in familiar territory, even though this a new author and his first book.

In addition to the warm and fuzzy feeling created by resonance, it’s a very well written book, with a decent plot, excellent character development, and lots of elements familiar to us lovers of Military Science Fiction and Space Opera.

The main character, as in David Weber’s Honorverse series, is a woman, which is a nice change. She’s no wilting violet, but what would you expect from a woman called Promise Paine?

I especially enjoyed the details on the suits of armor and weapons. A really cool feature of the Marine’s energy rifles is the concept of a ‘reserve’ – a last ditch built in backup of 30 shots – designed to be used when the shit hits the fan and you need to evac asap.

To quote David Weber, I highly recommend it!
View all my reviews

Need Reviewers for “Of Ice & Magic”

Need Reviewers for “Of Ice & Magic”

Hey, folks, I’m looking for reviewers for “Of Ice & Magic” my latest novella. It’s epic fantasy, and a quick read (19k words, or about 77 pages).

If you’re interested, I’ll send you a free Kindle, ePUB or PDF copy to read. And if you could post a brief Amazon review I would be most grateful!

Indie authors live and die on reviews. More reviews = me getting to keep on writing full time.

Email me at author@hughblong.com if you want a review copy.

Of Ice & Magic

Magic still fills the dark corners of the world. Sometimes that is a good thing—more often, it is not.
At the ends of the Earth the last remaining soul forger, Fornulf, plies his trade, crafting  legendary living-blades for those few nobles who can afford them.
Betrayed and on the run, Fornulf and his family must enlist forgotten allies and forge new alliances to rid their homeland of evil. To defeat the usurper and save his people, Fornulf is forced to make a choice no man should have to.
– Filled with magic, betrayal, heartache, and courage, “Of Ice & Magic” defines Epic Fantasy.

oficeandmagic

Review: Starplex

Review: Starplex

Starplex
Starplex by Robert J. Sawyer

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This was truly an incredible book. Starplex was a rare exploration of the Space Opera sub-genre, and as Robert J. Sawyer intended, did not focus on a military plot as the central theme, but rather, a peaceful group of scientists who’s mission was to make peaceful contact with other races via a vast network of ‘shortcuts’ or stargate type devices. Yes, there is certainly space combat and battles, but what makes this book so different is the anchoring in real science fiction roots — at it’s core it’s about science, and the extrapolation and exploration of ‘what-if’ scenarios. It seeks to tease apart answers to current scientific knowledge.

To say this book was riveting was an understatement. I read it in 24 hours, and wished there was a whole series like it. But alas, this book is, and must be, fully self-contained. Starplex plucks the most melodious strings of science fiction, and turns them into a symphony for the mind.

The various races described in the novel were also fascinating, each with distinct cultures and idiosyncrasies. Sawyer is a man with an incredible imagination.

Almost 20 years after publication this book remains singular and utterly engaging.

View all my reviews

Pin It on Pinterest