Review: Unbreakable: A Novel

Review: Unbreakable: A Novel

Unbreakable: A Novel
Unbreakable: A Novel by W.C. Bauers

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Unbreakable: A Novel by W.C. Bauers www.goodreads.com/book/show/22238182

I read a book this week called Unbreakable by a new author, W.C. Bauers. It was a very good book, in the vein of Honor Harrington and Starship Troopers. What really struck me though, was that once I was about ¼ of the way in to the book …. I thought the author was writing in Weber’s Honorverse. I heard terms like: Hexapuma, BuPers, Diaspora, LAC (light attack craft), all very common verbiage in the Honor Harrington Universe. The author even has a “pull-out quote” from David Weber on the cover: “I highly recommend it.”

After some quick research I found no direct connection to Weber’s Honorverse.

Then it hit me: this is a technique called RESONANCE. David Farland wrote an excellent book on the subject: Drawing on the Power of Resonance in Writing.

The author (whether conscious or not) is using many terms that are familiar to Honorverse readers. This causes the work to resonate with them. He also uses the term “The Verse”, like in Firefly. By using resonance, these subtle cues really anchor the story in familiar territory, even though this a new author and his first book.

In addition to the warm and fuzzy feeling created by resonance, it’s a very well written book, with a decent plot, excellent character development, and lots of elements familiar to us lovers of Military Science Fiction and Space Opera.

The main character, as in David Weber’s Honorverse series, is a woman, which is a nice change. She’s no wilting violet, but what would you expect from a woman called Promise Paine?

I especially enjoyed the details on the suits of armor and weapons. A really cool feature of the Marine’s energy rifles is the concept of a ‘reserve’ – a last ditch built in backup of 30 shots – designed to be used when the shit hits the fan and you need to evac asap.

To quote David Weber, I highly recommend it!
View all my reviews

Alien Invasions

Alien Invasions

by Kindle Editors on 07/07/2014

Evan Curry, author of the upcoming book, Out of the Black, from his popular Odyssey One series, discusses the idea of an Alien invasion on earth.

The words invoke imagery from a hundred movies and books, from War of the Worlds to Independence Day and beyond. In the Odyssey series I play with the common tropes of the genre, twisting some and just enjoying others, but the common question has a tendency to remain… Even if we accept the central premise, is any of it really possible? Why would aliens bother with us anyway? More importantly, for a military science fiction writer like myself at least, could we beat them back? Could we win?

Better minds than mine have given it a lot of through, including the US Military if rumors hold some truth to them, but it always seems to boil down to us poor humans having something the big scary aliens want. Alright, that makes sense on the surface, so what could we have? Air? Water? Gold or other precious metals?

No, none of those make sense. Any space faring culture would more easily acquire those in space at any asteroid belt, out in the Oort Cloud, or any of a thousand other possibilities. So why invade? Two possibilities make sense, a lot of sense.

First, Aliens may want or need our Biosphere. Air, Water, even food can easily be manufactured…. READ MORE ON KINDLE POST

Check out more of Evan’s Books on his AUTHOR PAGE

author pages

 Check out my favorite of Evan’s books below!

Into the Black - Odyssey One

Into the Black – Odyssey One: Book 1

The Heart of Matter - Odyssey One: Book 2

The Heart of Matter – Odyssey One: Book 2

Homeworld - Odyssey One: Book 3

Homeworld – Odyssey One: Book 3

Out of the Black - Odyssey One

Out of the Black – Odyssey One

The Yggdrasil Codex

The Yggdrasil Codex

Thanks for stopping by! I’ve been writing for many years, but mostly non-fiction. I’ve even won two literary awards! I have to toot my own hornI’m my own publicist ;IMG 3076 My interests in fiction are varied. I started off as a young fellow reading Fantasy, such as Lord of The Rings and The Hobbit. I later went on to read science fiction and general genre fiction. I have to be honest, I’ve never been a fan of literary fiction. I’ve heard Genre Fiction described as “Ordinary people doing extraordinary things” and Literary fiction described as “Extraordinary people doing ordinary things”. I like a good plot and action. I don’t have anything against good characterization, but I don’t want that to be the core of books I read or write. Over the next few months I’ll be working on short stories as well as grinding away at a full length novel. I’m done with all my non-fiction commitments for the year ( just finished Northern Plant Lore), so for at least the next 6 months I’ll be focused on my fiction full time. I have a really cool short story on Amazon right now for Kindle, it’s called the Yggdrasil Codex, and is only .99¢ In this life there are a great many profound questions that have yet to be answered: Are we the first intelligent life in the universe? Why are we here? Man continues to ask these questions, apparently to deaf heavens. But what if someone, or something,did answer? Amazon Best Selling Book - Silver In the short story The Yggdrasil Codex, two University researchers stumble upon an incredible secret encoded on ancient Scandinavian runestones. Their discovery leads them into the world of modern code-breakers and ultimately leads to a revelation with galactic consequences! * Author update: This short story became an Amazon Best Seller!

Pin It on Pinterest