Review: Unbreakable: A Novel

Review: Unbreakable: A Novel

Unbreakable: A Novel
Unbreakable: A Novel by W.C. Bauers

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Unbreakable: A Novel by W.C. Bauers www.goodreads.com/book/show/22238182

I read a book this week called Unbreakable by a new author, W.C. Bauers. It was a very good book, in the vein of Honor Harrington and Starship Troopers. What really struck me though, was that once I was about ¼ of the way in to the book …. I thought the author was writing in Weber’s Honorverse. I heard terms like: Hexapuma, BuPers, Diaspora, LAC (light attack craft), all very common verbiage in the Honor Harrington Universe. The author even has a “pull-out quote” from David Weber on the cover: “I highly recommend it.”

After some quick research I found no direct connection to Weber’s Honorverse.

Then it hit me: this is a technique called RESONANCE. David Farland wrote an excellent book on the subject: Drawing on the Power of Resonance in Writing.

The author (whether conscious or not) is using many terms that are familiar to Honorverse readers. This causes the work to resonate with them. He also uses the term “The Verse”, like in Firefly. By using resonance, these subtle cues really anchor the story in familiar territory, even though this a new author and his first book.

In addition to the warm and fuzzy feeling created by resonance, it’s a very well written book, with a decent plot, excellent character development, and lots of elements familiar to us lovers of Military Science Fiction and Space Opera.

The main character, as in David Weber’s Honorverse series, is a woman, which is a nice change. She’s no wilting violet, but what would you expect from a woman called Promise Paine?

I especially enjoyed the details on the suits of armor and weapons. A really cool feature of the Marine’s energy rifles is the concept of a ‘reserve’ – a last ditch built in backup of 30 shots – designed to be used when the shit hits the fan and you need to evac asap.

To quote David Weber, I highly recommend it!
View all my reviews

Pin It on Pinterest